The Ramanujan Prize

For young mathematicians from developing countries

The Ramanujan Prize for young mathematicians from developing countries has been awarded annually since 2005. It was originally instituted by ICTP, the Niels Henrik Abel Memorial Fund, and the International Mathematical Union (IMU). The participation of the Abel Fund ended in 2012; the Department of Science and Technology of the Government of India (DST) has now agreed to fund the Prize for a 5 year period, starting with the 2014 Prize.

The Prize is awarded annually to a researcher from a developing country who is less than 45 years of age on 31 December of the year of the award, and who has conducted outstanding research in a developing country. Researchers working in any branch of the mathematical sciences are eligible. The Prize carries a $15,000 cash award. The winner will be invited to ICTP to receive the Prize and deliver a lecture. The Prize is usually awarded to one person, but may be shared equally among recipients who have contributed to the same body of work.

The Selection Committee takes into account not only the scientific quality of the research, but also the background of the candidate and the environment in which the work was carried out. The Committee in particular favours candidates who have overcome adversity to achieve distinction in mathematics.

The Committee consists of eminent mathematicians appointed in consultation between ICTP, the IMU, and the DST.