Dirac banner


Recognising Excellence

ICTP honours distinguished physicists and mathematicians


Dirac banner

ICTP maintains a programme of prestigious physics and mathematics prizes that honour top physicists and mathematicians, especially those from developing countries.

Its Dirac Medal, one of the most prestigious medals in the field of theoretical physics, can be considered as a barometer for future success: seven medallists have proceeded to win Physics Nobel Prizes.

The Dirac Medal

P.A.M. Dirac

First awarded in 1985, the Dirac Medal is given in honour of P.A.M. Dirac, one of the greatest physicists of the 20th century and a staunch friend of the Centre. It is awarded annually on Dirac's birthday, 8 August, to scientists who have made significant contributions to theoretical physics.

The ICTP Prize

The ICTP Prize was created in 1982 by the ICTP Scientific Council to recognize outstanding and original contributions in physics by young scientists from, and working in, developing countries.

ICO/ICTP Gallieno Denardo Award

Prof. Gallieno Denardo

The ICO/ICTP Gallieno Denardo Award recognizes the work of young researchers from developing countries who are active in optics and photonics research and have contributed to the promotion of research activities in in their own or another developing country.

The Ramanujan Prize

Srinivasa Ramanujan

The Prize is awarded annually to a researcher from a developing country who is less than 45 years of age on 31 December of the year of the award, and who has conducted outstanding research in a developing country.

The Walter Kohn Prize

Walter Kohn

The Prize, jointly instituted and co-funded by ICTP and the Quantum ESPRESSO Foundation, is awarded biennially to a young scientist for outstanding contributions in the field of quantum-mechanical materials and molecular modeling.

Spirit of Abdus Salam Award

Abdus Salam

An award honouring the spirit of ICTP's founder