Ramanujan Prize Winner 2020

Carolina Araujo


2020 DST-ICTP-IMU Ramanujan Prize for Young Mathematicians from Developing Countries

jointly awarded by

  • The Abdus Salam International Center for Theoretical Physics,
  • The Department of Science and Technology (DST, Government of India), and
  • The International Mathematical Union (IMU).


It is our pleasure to announce that the winner of the 2020 Ramanujan Prize for Young Mathematicians from Developing Countries is Carolina Araujo, a researcher at the Institute for Pure and Applied Mathematics (IMPA) in Rio de Janeiro, Brazil.

The prize is in recognition of her outstanding work in algebraic geometry, in particular in birational geometry and the theory of extremal rays, of which she gave important applications, in particular obtaining a characterization of projective spaces and hyperquadrics; for her work in the study and classification of Fano varieties, and her study of algebraic foliations. Araujo has also played a key role in promoting women in mathematics and in the organization of important mathematical activities.

Araujo specializes in algebraic geometry, including birational geometry and foliations. She has been a Simons Associate with ICTP since 2015, and is the vice president of the Committee for Women in Mathematics at the International Mathematical Union.

The selection committee consisted of Alicia Dickenstein (University of Buenos Aires), Lothar Goettsche (ICTP, chair), Kapil Hari Paranjape (Indian Institute of Science Education and Research (IISER) Mohali), Philibert Nang (École normale supérieure Libreville, Gabon), and Van Vu (Yale University).