Ramanujan Prize Winner 2012

Fernando Codá Marques


The 2012 Ramanujan Prize, awarded jointly by
The Abdus Salam International Centre for Theoretical Physics
The Niels Henrik Abel Memorial Fund,
and The International Mathematical Union 

We take pleasure in announcing that the 2012 Ramanujan Prize for Young Mathematicians from Developing Countries will be awarded to Professor Fernando Codá Marques (32), Instituto Nacional de Matematica Pura e Aplicada. Rio de Janeiro, Brazil.

The Prize is in recognition of his several outstanding contributions to Differential Geometry. Together with his coauthors, Fernando Coda Marques has solved long standing open problems, and obtained important results, including results on the Yamabe problem, the complete solution of Schoen's conjecture, counterexamples to the rigidity conjecture of Min-Oo, connectivity of the space of positive curvature metrics on an orientable 3-manifold, and most recently, a proof of the Willmore conjecture.

The Selection Committee consisted of Ngo Bao Chau, Helge Holden, Maria Jose Pacifico, Vasudevan Srinivas and Lothar Goettsche (chair).

Helge Holden awarding Fernando Codá Marques
Helge Holden awarding Fernando Codá Marques

25 June 2012