Ramanujan Prize Winner 2015

Amalendu Krishna


2015 DST-ICTP-IMU Ramanujan Prize for Young Mathematicians
from Developing Countries

jointly awarded by

  • The Abdus Salam International Center for Theoretical Physics,
  • The Department of Science and Technology (DST, Government of India), and
  • The International Mathematical Union (IMU).

Amalendu Krishna
Amalendu Krishna

It is our pleasure to announce that the winner of the 2015 Ramanujan Prize for Young Mathematicians from Developing Countries is Dr. Amalendu Krishna of India's Tata Institute of Fundamental Research.

The prize is in recognition of Krishna's outstanding contributions in the area of algebraic K-theory, algebraic cycles and the theory of motives.

In his work, Krishna has shown an impressive command of a very technical subject, applying the modern theories of algebraic K-theory and Voevodsky’s theory of motives to study concrete problems.

His results on 0-cycles on algebraic varieties with isolated singularities effectively reduces their study to the corresponding study on the desingularization, together with information about multiples of the exceptional divisors. This allows the complete calculation of the Chow group of 0-cycles on an algebraic variety in many cases, like the case of rational varieties or cones.

Working initially with Levine, and later with Park, Krishna built up the original constructions of Bloch-Esnault on additive Chow groups into a full theory. This includes proving fundamental properties, such as the contravariant functoriality and a projective bundle formula, as well as constructing an action of the usual higher Chow groups on the additive ones.

The 2015 Ramanujan Prize Selection Committee comprised:

  • Maryam Mirzakhani
  • Ngaiming Mok
  • Duong H. Phong
  • Madabusi S. Raghunathan
  • Fernando Rodriguez Villegas (Chair)