Ramanujan Prize Winner 2014

Miguel Walsh


2014 DST-ICTP-IMU Ramanujan Prize for Young Mathematicians from Developing Countries

jointly awarded by

  • The Abdus Salam International Center for Theoretical Physics,
  • The Department of Science and Technology (DST, Government of India), and
  • The International Mathematical Union (IMU).

We take pleasure in announcing that the 2014 Srinivasa Ramanujan Prize will be awarded to Dr. Miguel Walsh.

The Prize is in recognition of Dr. Walsh's outstanding contributions to Ergodic Theory and Number Theory, including a proof of the norm convergence of multiple polynomial or nilpotent ergodic averages, a long-standing problem in ergodic theory, and important results in inverse sieve problems leading to a sharp bound on the number of rational points on curves.

The Prize is funded by DST in collaboration with ICTP and the participation of the International Mathematical Union.

Miguel Walsh. Image Source:
Miguel Walsh. Image Source:

Ramanujan Prize Selection Committee

  • Augustin Banyaga
  • Zhi-Ming Ma
  • Duong H. Phong
  • Madabusi S. Raghunathan
  • Fernando Rodriguez Villegas (Chair)