Ramanujan Prize Winner 2011

Philibert Nang


The 2011 Ramanujan Prize, awarded jointly by
The Abdus Salam International Centre for Theoretical Physics,
The Niels Henrik Abel Memorial Fund,
and The International Mathematical Union 

We take pleasure in announcing that the 2011 Ramanujan Prize for Young Mathematicians from Developing Countries will be awarded to Professor Philibert Nang (44), Ecole Normale Superieure, Laboratorie de Recherche en Mathematiques, Libreville, Gabon.

The prize is in recognition of his outstanding contributions to  the algebraic theory of D-modules. He has important classification theorems for equivariant algebraic D-modules in terms of explicit algebraic invariants, and his results complement the insights obtained by others using perverse sheaves, and thus shedding new light on the Riemann-Hilbert correspondence.

The Prize is also in recognition of Dr. Nang's determined pursuit of high level research while engaged in an academic career in his home country of Gabon, Africa. It is hoped that his example will inspire other young  African mathematicians working at the highest levels while based in Africa.

Philibert Nang
Philibert Nang

The Ramanujan Prize Selection Committee

Lothar Goettsche (Chair)
Helge Holden
Maria Jose Pacifico
Vasudevan Srinivas
Gang Tian

13 January 2012