Declaration/permit of Stay

Additional requirements for your stay in Italy


Information for non-EU visitors

When at ICTP all non-EU visitors need to formalize their stay in Italy within a maximum of 8 days from the date of entry into the country (unless their visit is for less than 9 days).

The procedures are as follows:

For short stays from 8 up to 90 days a Declaration of Stay is sufficient:

a) ICTP visitors accommodated at the Guesthouses (Adriatico and Galileo) should not worry about this as the declaration will be automatically prepared and digitally transmitted by the Guesthouses’ Receptions to the Immigration Authorities.

That is why the reception staff will kindly ask for one’s passport at the check in.

b) ICTP visitors who are accommodated in private accommodations outside the campus (without transiting through the Guesthouses) should instead as soon as possible, but not later than 2 days after their arrival, visit the ICTP Visa Office who will assist them with the procedure.

For long stays, 91 days and more, a permit of stay is required:

In this case visitors need as soon as possible but not later than 2 days after their arrival, visit the ICTP VISA Office which will assist them with the application for a Permit of Stay (Permesso di Soggiorno). This shall be applied for through the Postal Service within 8 working days of the arrival. Kindly note however that there are some costs involved: each application will require a Euro 30  handling fee for the Post Office, a payment of Euro 72 for the electronic Permit of Stay (compulsory) and an additional Euro 16 Tax Revenue Stamp which should be applied on the application form.

Each visitor should apply separately. Children up to the age of 14 can be included in their parents' application, but an additional payment of Euro 32 is necessary for each child.

It should take between 2 and 3 months to have the standard Permesso issued.

Delays beyond time frames indicated by the Questura are possible. In the waiting period you will have a receipt, issued by the Post Office, which testifies that you complied within the terms of 8 eight days with the Law requirements. Please note that with this receipt, you can leave Italy but you cannot re-enter Italy. So do not plan early travel to other countries outside the Schengen area when planning your stay at ICTP. Once you are granted the standard Permesso, you can travel freely in and out of Italy and the Schengen area provided you always bring along the original Permesso together with your passport. If a standard Permesso is not granted, you can stay in Italy with the receipt and leave the country, but cannot re-enter Italy.

If a personal emergency situation should make it necessary for you to leave Italy while still waiting for the Permesso, please contact the ICTP Visa Office.

When applying for a Permesso di Soggiorno, having arrived in Trieste, only for stays of 91 days and more you will need:

  • A valid health insurance policy and
  • One recent colour passport-sized photograph

Information for European Union nationals and/or residents

According to instructions received from the Italian authorities, EU and/or Schengen state passport holders do not need a visa to enter Italy. EU and/or Schengen state passport holders visiting the ICTP for more than 90 days should register at the Town Hall through a local General Registry Office (Ufficio Anagrafe).

Non-EU passport holders who reside in a Schengen member state and have a valid residence permit in that country may enter Italy without a visa for a maximum period of 90 days. To visit the ICTP they only need their residence permit (provided it covers the period of their stay at the ICTP), their valid passport and the official ICTP invitation letter. A suggestion however is to check their situation with the nearest Italian Consulate before entering Italy.

Schengen residence permit holders should register their presence in Italy with the local authorities. This is nowadays done either by the Hotel/Guesthouse or by the landlord in case of private accommodation.

26 Schengen countries: Austria, Belgium, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Italy, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden and Switzerland.