ICTP's strategic advisors

ICTP operates under a tripartite agreement between the Italian Government, the International Atomic Energy Agency (IAEA), and the United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization (UNESCO) and ratified by an act of the Italian Parliament in January 1995. ICTP is a UNESCO Category 1 Institute.

Since 1996, UNESCO has been responsible for the administrative management of the Centre, prior to which it was administered by the IAEA. Each party has a representative on the Centre's Steering Committee, which sets general guidelines for the Centre's activities, determines budgeting levels, and considers proposals from the Director for the programme, work plans, financial plans, and budget.

See also:

ICTP Steering Committee

  • Assistant Director-General Natural Sciences Sector, UNESCO
  • Deputy Director General, Department of Nuclear Sciences and Applications, IAEA
  • Professor of Theoretical Physics, Department of Physics and Astronomy, University of Padua

ICTP also has a Scientific Council that comprises distinguished specialists in disciplines relevant to the Centre's activities who represent a broad geographical range. The Council advises ICTP on its programmes of activities, taking into consideration major academic, scientific, educational and cultural trends relevant to the Centre's objectives.

ICTP Scientific Council

  • Institute of Physics, The Federal University of Rio de Janeiro, Brazil
  • Department of Physics, Princeton University, Princeton, New Jersey
  • Laboratoire de Physique Théorique de l'ENS Paris, France
  • Department of Mathematics, Duke University, Durham, North Carolina
  • Department of Civil and Environmental Engineering Massachusetts Institute of Technology, Cambridge, Massachusetts
  • Department of Physics Stanford University, Stanford, California
  • University of Rome "La Sapienza"; Chairman, Scientific Council
  • Institute for Advanced Study Princeton, New Jersey
  • Centre for Applicable Mathematics Bangalore, India
  • Computational Science Laboratory Department of Chemistry & Applied Biosciences ETH Zurich Lugano, Switzerland
  • Institute of Astronomy, University of Cambridge, UK
  • Russian Academy of Sciences Institute For Nuclear Research, Moscow, Russian Federation
  • Department of Physics, Harvard University, Cambridge, Massachusetts
  • Harish-Chandra Research Institute, Allahabad, India
  • Mechanical Engineering Department, Worcester Polytechnic Institute, Worcester, Massachusetts
  • Peking University, Beijing International Center for Mathematical Research, China
  • Center for the Fundamental Laws of Nature Harvard University Department of Physics, Cambridge, Massachusetts