news highlights

Mathematics Celebration

Ramanujan Prize ceremony to be livestreamed

Mathematics Celebration
Mathematics Celebration

11/10/2017 - Trieste, Italy

On Thursday 12 October, ICTP will celebrate mathematics with an award ceremony for the recipient of the 2017 Ramanujan Prize.

Eduardo Teixeira, formerly of the Federal University of Ceará, Brazil and now a professor at the University of Central Florida, USA, was named the awardee in June for his outstanding work in analysis and Partial Differential Equations (PDE), building on his early work on existence and regularity results for free boundary problems.

The full citation of the award is here.

The Prize also recognizes Professor Teixeira's determined pursuit of high-level research at his home institution in northeast Brazil, where over the last decade he has founded and directed one of the major research groups in nonlinear PDEs in Latin America.  It is hoped that his example will inspire mathematicians working at the highest levels while based outside main established centers of research. 

The 2017 prize award ceremony will take place on Thursday 12 October 2017 in ICTP’s Budinich Lecture Hall, at 16:30. It will also be livestreamed at

The Ramanujan Prize is awarded annually to a researcher from a developing country who is less than 45 years of age on 31 December of the year of the award, and who has conducted outstanding research in a developing country. Researchers working in any branch of the mathematical sciences are eligible. The prize is sponsored by ICTP, the International Mathematical Union, and the Department of Science and Technology of the Government of India.