ICTP Launches Video Interview Series

"Dirac Conversations" features interviews with renowned scientists who have made major contributions to theoretical physics and mathematics
ICTP Launches Video Interview Series

ICTP is a hub for international science, attracting thousands of scientists each year, including some of the most prestigious physicists and mathematicians in the world. Hundreds of Nobel laureates, Fields medallists, and ICTP Dirac medallists have visited ICTP over the years, sharing their insights and perspectives with ICTP's international science community. ICTP is capturing some of these insights in its video series of  "Dirac Conversations" and "ICTP Conversations". All were conducted by ICTP Director Atish Dabholkar, sometimes accompanied by members of the Centre's faculty.

The series, launched on the day ICTP celebrates the laureates of the 2023 Dirac Medal, features interviews conducted by ICTP Director Atish Dabholkar with some of the world's top physicists and mathematicians, including:

  • Luciano Maiani (Dirac Medal 2007)
  • Subir Sachdev (Dirac Medal 2018)
  • Dan Thanh Son (Dirac Medal 2018)
  • Alessandra Buonanno, Thibault Damour and Frans Pretorius (Dirac Medal 2021)
  • Peter Zoller (Dirac Medal 2006)
  • Michele Parrinello (Dirac Medal 2009)
  • Ngo Bao Chau (Fields Medal 2010)
  • Edward Witten (Dirac Medal 1985)

Featuring leading researchers in theoretical high-energy, condensed matter physics and in mathematics, the ICTP Conversations are an opportunity to get a glimpse of the most important breakthroughs made in these fields over the past few decades, from string theory to the Langlands Programme, from black holes to molecular dynamics simulations. In addition to touching upon advanced research topics, these interviews also show us what role ICTP has played in science through the eyes of some of the greatest scientists of our time.

With the exception of mathematician Ngo Bao Chau, who was awarded the Fields Medal in 2010, the protagonists of this video series have all been awarded the Dirac Medal, which was created by ICTP in 1985 and has become one of the most prestigious awards in theoretical physics. Over the years, it has been awarded to leading figures in the discipline, many of whom have subsequently received even more important prizes, such as the Nobel Prize or the Fields Medal. The award is given in honour of P.A.M. Dirac, one of the greatest physicists of the 20th century and a staunch friend of the Centre. Every year, the Dirac Medal is awarded on Dirac's birthday, 8 August, to scientists who have made significant contributions to theoretical physics.

Find the Dirac Conversations on ICTP's YouTube channel.

Publishing Date