Celebrating Optics Excellence

ICO/ICTP Prize Ceremony Today
Celebrating Optics Excellence

Today, 14 February 2023, ICTP celebrates the recent recipients of the ICO/ICTP Gallieno Denardo Award with a ceremony in the Budinich Lecture Hall at 15:30 hrs CET. The ceremony takes place in conjunction with ICTP's Winter College on Optics: Terahertz Optics and Photonics.

The ICO/ICTP Gallieno Denardo Awards for 2021, 2022 and 2023 go to:

  • David Hayrapetyan from the Russian-Armenian University at Yerevan, Armenia, has been awarded the 2021 ICO/ICTP Gallieno Denardo Award "for his breakthrough contributions to the theory of semiconductor nanosystems, as well as his promotion of optics and photonics in Armenia under difficult circumstances."
  • VR Supradeepa from the Center for Nano Science and Engineering, IISc Bangalore, India, has been awarded the 2022 ICO/ICTP Gallieno Denardo Award "for his significant contributions to the field of high power fiber lasers and integrated non linear optics, including cascaded Raman fiber lasers, high power supercontinuum laser sources, and on-chip frequency combs. He has contributed to the promotion of research activities in Optics in India, through the supervision of many PhD students including women and members of unprivileged communities as well as outreach activities for undergraduate students.”
  • Muhammad Qasim Mehmood from the Information Technology Institute of the Punjab at Lahore, Pakistan, has been awarded the 2023 ICO/ICTP Gallieno Denardo Award "for his remarkable contribution to the field of nanophotonics, in particular plasmonics and materials, and for supervising and inspiring many young researchers in Pakistan."

The ceremony will be livestreamed at

More information about the ICO/ICTP Gallieno Denardo Award can be found here  and here.



Publishing Date