ICTP's 2020 Dirac Medal

Nomination deadline 30 June
ICTP's 2020 Dirac Medal

ICTP is now accepting nominations for its premier physics prize, the Dirac Medal. First awarded in 1985, the Dirac Medal is given in honour of P.A.M. Dirac, one of the greatest physicists of the 20th century and a staunch friend of the Centre. It is awarded annually on Dirac's birthday, 8 August, to scientists who have made significant contributions to theoretical physics.

The deadline for receipt of nominations is 30 June 2020.

An international committee of distinguished scientists selects the winners from a list of nominated candidates.

Nominations can be submitted online.  Alternatively, you can download the nomination form (Word document) and mail the completed forms to

The Dirac Medal is not awarded to Nobel Laureates, Fields Medallists, or Wolf Foundation Prize winners, although many Dirac Medallists have proceeded to win these prestigious prizes. The full list of past winners, including their award citations, are available on the ICTP Dirac Medal webpage.

For further information, please write to

Publishing Date