Optics Award Announced

Two scientists share this year's ICO/ICTP prize
Optics Award Announced

ICTP and the International Commission for Optics (ICO) have announced the recipients of their 2016 ICO/ICTP Gallieno Denardo Award.

The 2016 award is shared by two researchers: Jehan Akbar of Pakistan and Mati Horprathum of Thailand.

The award to Dr. Akbar, an assistant professor in the Department of Physics at Hazara University, Mansehra, Pakistan, cites his breakthrough contributions in the design and fabrication of high performance semiconductor lasers and amplifiers as well as for promotion of research activities in optics and photonics in Pakistan. Dr. Akbar is an ICTP Junior Associate.

The award citation for Dr. Horprathum, a researcher with the National Electronics and Computer Technology Center, Thailand, highlights his valuable contributions in the development of optical thin film technology for innovative surface functionality as well as for his commitment in the diffusion of optical thin film research in Thailand.

The ICO/ICTP Gallieno Denardo Award recognizes researchers younger than 40 years of age from a developing country who have made significant contributions to the field of optics or photonics. The recipient receives a certificate, US $1,000, and an invitation to participate in and deliver a lecture at an ICTP activity relevant to optics.

The award is named in honour of Gallieno Denardo, who coordinated optics activities at ICTP for more than twenty years.

For more details, please see the award web page.

Publishing Date