ICTP Prize Winners 1998

Anamaria Font and Fernando Quevedo


The ICTP Prize in the field of High Energy Physics (in honour of Professor Chen Ning Yang) has been awarded jointly to Anamaria Font from Universidad Central de Venezuela, Caracas, Venezuela, and Fernando Quevedo from Universidad Nacional Autonoma de Mexico (UNAM), Mexico D.F., Mexico,

for their contribution to the phenomenological studies in superstring theory based on orbifold compactifications and many works on Calabi-Yau compactifications, mirror symmetry and duality symmetries. These works have contributed to a greater understanding of the low energy string physics, as well as various stringy symmetries. In particular, the important concept of S-duality has been introduced by them and their collaborators.

Anamaria Font, Miguel Virasoro and Fernando Quevedo
Anamaria Font, Miguel Virasoro and Fernando Quevedo