ICTP Prize 2019

Basudeb Dasgupta , Suvrat Raju


The 2019 ICTP Prize in honour of Subrahmanyan Chandrasekhar has been awarded to Basudeb Dasgupta, Tata Institute of Fundamental Research, Mumbai, India and Suvrat Raju, International Centre for Theoretical Sciences, TIFR, Shivakote, Bengaluru, India.

The prize recognises Basudeb Dasgupta (India) for innovative theoretical contributions to neutrino and dark-matter physics, especially to the understanding of collective neutrino oscillations. Suvrat Raju (India) is recognised for new insights into the holographic description of black-hole interiors, for clarifying the nature of subtle non-local effects in quantum gravity, and for contributions to the study of the AdS/CFT correspondence.