ICTP Prize 2015

Aijun Ding, Vijayakumar S. Nair


ICTP has awarded its 2015 ICTP Prize to two young scientists particularly active in the fields of atmospheric chemistry and physics in connection with climate science:

  • Dr. Aijun Ding for his outstanding contribution to the analysis and simulation of chemical and physical processes related to tropospheric pollution. Ding’s studies notably brought new observational and modelling insights on the two-way interactions between anthropogenic pollution, meteorological phenomena and natural components of the earth system such as dust aerosol. Ding’s leading works have found immediate applications in terms of understanding and improving air quality and health impacts, as well as meteorological and climate predictions over East Asia. Ding is a Professor at the School of Atmospheric Science, Nanjing University, China.
  • Dr. Vijayakumar S. Nair for his outstanding contribution in the domain of aerosol-climate interactions. Dr. Nair's studies have greatly contributed to a better physical and chemical characterization of absorbing aerosol (soot and natural dust) over heavily polluted regions of India, as well as to a better understanding of how these particles might affect regional hydro-climate through various radiative forcing pathways. Dr. Nair's competencies extend from theoretical aspects of aerosol-radiation interactions to aerosol observational remote sensing techniques as well as climate modelling. Dr. Nair is presently working as a junior scientist at the Space Physics Laboratory of the Vikram Sarabhai Space Centre, Kerala, India.

The 2015 ICTP Prize honours the memory of Professor Stephen Henry Schneider, one of the most prominent figures in climate change research.