ICTP Prize 2013

Yasaman Farzan , Patchanita Thamyongkit


The 2013 ICTP Prize in honour of Marie Curie has been awarded to Dr. Yasaman Farzan, Institute for Research in Fundamental Sciences, Tehran, Iran, and Dr. Patchanita Thamyongkit, Department of Chemistry, Chulalongkorn University, Bangkok, Thailand.

The prize recognises Professor Yasaman Farzan (Iran) for her theoretical contributions to the physics of neutrinos, including development of the unitarity triangle method to determine the CP-violating phase, identification of symmetries leading to particular values of the phase and the proposal to use polarisation measurements to obtain information about CP violation.

The prize recognises Professor Patchanita Thamyongkit (Thailand) for her experimental chemistry contributions to organic, conjugated, and semiconducting materials of great relevance for photovoltaic research.