ICO/ICTP Gallieno Denardo Award Winner 2019

Muhammad Faryad and Christian Tomas Schmiegelow


ICTP and the International Commission for Optics (ICO) have announced the recipients of their 2019 ICO/ICTP Gallieno Denardo Award. This year, the award is shared by two researchers: Muhammad Faryad of Lahore University of Management Sciences (LUMS) in Pakistan, and Christian Tomas Schmiegelow of the Universidad de Buenos Aires in Argentina.

The award for Faryad cites “his contributions to the understanding of light interaction with nanostructured materials, and applications in the area of optical surface waves, solar cells, optical metamaterials and the modelling of wave propagation in the nanostructured mediums.”

Schmiegelow received the ICO/ICTP Prize for “his contributions to the field of quantum optics and light-matter interaction, and in particular the demonstration of transfer of optical orbital momentum to bound electrons and studies on interaction of twisted light with trapped ions.”