Dirac Medallists 2009

Roberto Car , Michele Parrinello


The 2009 Dirac Medal recognises the joint contributions of Roberto Car and Michele Parrinello in developing the ab initio simulation method in which they combined, elegantly and imaginatively, the quantum mechanical density functional method for the calculation of the electronic properties of matter with molecular dynamics methods for the Newtonian simulation of atomic motions.

Read the news item