ICTP Prize Winner 1989

Ashoke SenAshoke Sen

Ashoke Sen 

The ICTP Prize in honour of Hideki Yukawa (Japan), Nobel Laureate 1949, in the field of High Energy Physics was awarded to Ashoke Sen, Tata Institute of Fundamental Research, Bombay, India, for his contributions to string theory, and in particular for the application of the sigma model approach to the heterotic string theory. He has contributed to the development of techniques of superstring perturbation theory at higher genus which have enhanced the string theory understanding of space-time supersymmetry non-renormalization theorems. He has also studied the implications of modular invariance in the problem of the classification of rational conformal field theories in 2 dimensions.


Photo gallery