Dirac Medallists 2005

Sir Sam Edwards and Patrick A. LeeSir Sam Edwards and Patrick A. Lee

Sir Samuel Frederick Edwards, Emeritus Cavendish professor of physics, University of Cambridge, UK,


Patrick A. Lee, William and Emma Rogers professor of physics, Massachusetts Institute of Technology, USA,

are the winners of the 2005 Dirac Medal.

Sir Samuel Frederick Edwards, one of the founding fathers of condensed matter physics, is being honoured for his fundamental contributions to polymer physics, spin glass theory and the physics of granular matter.

Patrick A. Lee, who is internationally known for his work on weak localization and interaction effects, is being recognized for his pioneering contributions to our understanding of disordered and strongly interacting many-body systems.

Awarding Ceremony - Video [INTRANET ONLY]

Awarding Ceremony - Abstracts

Programme of the ceremony


Sir Samuel Frederick Edwards: Lecture - Abstract

Patrick A. Lee: Lecture - Abstract


Press articles [INTRANET ONLY]

Photo gallery