news highlights

Honours & Achievements

Faculty, council members recognized for excellence


 Faculty Achieve (1)
From top: Luciano Maiani, Renato Padovani, Sandro Radicella, Trivandrum Ramakrishnan Ramadas, and Gang Tian

Luciano Maiani, chairman of ICTP’s Scientific Council and former CERN Director General, has been awarded Honorary Membership of the European Physical Society for his exceptional scientific contributions to elementary particle physics and outstanding achievements in the leadership of Italian and International Scientific institutions.

Renato Padovani, coordinator of ICTP’s Master of Advanced Studies in Medical Physics, has been awarded the International Day of Medical Physics Award by the International Organization for Medical Physics. The award recognises excellence in medical physics with a particular view of promoting medical physics to a larger audience and highlighting the contributions medical physicists make to patient care.

Sandro Radicella, head of ICTP's Telecommunications/ICT for Development Laboratory, has been awarded an honorary doctorate from his alma mater, the National University of Tucumán, Argentina. Since 1989, he has organized and carried out colleges, schools and workshops in aeronomy, space sciences and telecommunications, training more than 2800 young scientists and university professors from developing countries.

Trivandrum Ramakrishnan Ramadas, former head of ICTP's Mathematics section, and Gang Tian, a current member of ICTP’s Scientific Council, have been elected as two of six members-at-large of the International Mathematical Union's Executive Committee. Ramadas led ICTP's maths activities from 2008 to 2013, while Tian has served on ICTP's Scientific Council since 2010.