news highlights

ICTP's 2018 Dirac Medal

Nomination deadline 15 June

ICTP's Dirac Medal
ICTP's Dirac Medal

27/03/2018 - Trieste

ICTP is now accepting nominations for its premier physics prize, the Dirac Medal. First awarded in 1985, the Dirac Medal is given in honour of P.A.M. Dirac, one of the greatest physicists of the 20th century and a staunch friend of the Centre. It is awarded annually on Dirac's birthday, 8 August, to scientists who have made significant contributions to theoretical physics. Past winners include leaders in the field: Edward Witten, Frank Wilczek (who went on to win the Physics Nobel in 2004), and Juan Martín Maldacena (winner of the 2012 Fundamental Physics Prize).

The deadline for receipt of nominations is 15 June 2018.

An international committee of distinguished scientists selects the winners from a list of nominated candidates.

Nominations can be submitted online.  Alternatively, you can download the nomination form (Word document) and mail the completed forms to

The Dirac Medal is not awarded to Nobel Laureates, Fields Medallists, or Wolf Foundation Prize winners, although many Dirac Medallists have proceeded to win these prestigious prizes. The list of all past winners, the award citations and pictures from the award ceremony are available on the ICTP Dirac Medal webpage.

For further information, please write to