news highlights

Optics Prize Ceremony Today

Ceremony and prize lecture to be livestreamed

Optics Prize Ceremony Today (Image source: Fabrizio Carbone/EPFL)
Optics Prize Ceremony Today (Image source: Fabrizio Carbone/EPFL)

13/02/2018 - Trieste

ICTP and the International Commission for Optics (ICO) will present their 2018 ICO/ICTP Gallieno Denardo Award to Dr. Urbasi Sinha of the Raman Research Institute in Bengaluru, India. The ceremony will take place in the Budinich Lecture Hall and starts at 16:00; it will also be livestreamed.

After the ceremony, Dr. Sinha will give a talk based on her optics research.

Dr. Sinha has established India's first laboratory dedicated to quantum optics for quantum communication and computing. The ICO/ICTP Award cites her pioneering research in photonic quantum technologies, contributions to cutting edge experimental research in quantum optics, and extensive and multifaceted outreach activities towards popularizing experimental optical science in India.

The ICO/ICTP Gallieno Denardo Award is given annually to researchers younger than 40 years of age from a developing country who have made significant contributions to the field of optics or photonics.