news highlights

ICTP's Dirac Medal in Numbers

Where do medallists come from; what are their fields of expertise?

ICTP's Dirac Medal in Numbers
ICTP's Dirac Medal in Numbers

09/08/2017 - Trieste

Since 1985, ICTP has recognized outstanding scientists with its Dirac Medal, awarded annually on the birthday of its namesake, Paul Dirac, who was a mentor to ICTP founder Abdus Salam. The latest recipients--Charles Bennett, David Deutsch and Peter Shor--join a long list of distinguished past winners, several of whom have gone on to receive Nobel Prizes.

Which scientific fields have been recognized by the Dirac Medal? What are the top institutional affiliations of the winners? The infographic below summarizes the numbers.

Dirac Infographic