news highlights

Deadline 1 February

2018 Ramanujan Prize nominations

The Ramanujan Prize
The Ramanujan Prize

27/11/2017 - Trieste

ICTP is looking for outstanding, young mathematicians from developing countries to be nominated for the 2018 Ramanujan Prize.

The Prize, which has been awarded annually since 2005, is funded by the Department of Science and Technology of the Government of India (DST), and is administered jointly by ICTP, the International Mathematical Union (IMU), and the DST.

The Prize winner must be less than 45 years of age on 31 December of the year of the  award, and have conducted outstanding research in a developing country. Researchers working in any branch of the mathematical sciences are eligible. The Prize carries a US$15,000 cash award. The winner will be invited to ICTP to receive the Prize and deliver a lecture. The Prize is usually awarded to one person, but may be shared equally among recipients who have contributed to the same body of work. Check here for the list of past Prize recipients.

The Selection Committee will take into account not only the scientific quality of the research, but also the background of the candidate and the environment in which the work was carried out.

The Committee consists of eminent mathematicians appointed in consultation between ICTP, the DST and the IMU.

The deadline for receipt of nominations is 1 February 2018. Nominations should be made through the online system:

Self-nominations are strongly discouraged.