ICTP Prize Winner 2016

Aninda Sinha

ICTP has awarded its 2016 ICTP Prize to Aninda Sinha of the Center for High Energy Physics, Indian Institute of Science, Bangalore, India.

Sinha is a string theorist whose work crosses multiple disciplines, from quantum field theory to condensed matter physics. He is particularly known for a number of inventive contributions to the application of the holographic connection between theories of gravity and strongly coupled condensed matter physics. In recent years his publications have covered aspects of the holographic correspondence between gauge theory and gravity, its applications to aspects of fluid dynamics and connections with black hole dynamics and entanglement entropy.

Sinha’s ICTP Prize cites his "key contributions to aspects of quantum field theory using the AdS/CFT correspondence. In particular, the development of holographic c-theorems for strongly coupled theories which led to the first c-theorem in odd-dimensions, an important breakthrough in the study of hydrodynamic properties of strongly coupled systems with holographic duals, of the holographic entanglement entropy and in the conformal bootstrap program."

Each year, the ICTP Prize is given in honor of a scientist who has made outstanding contributions to the field in which the prize is given. The 2016 ICTP Prize honors Nobel Laureate Kenneth G. Wilson, a theoretical physicist who pioneered the application of computational field theory methods to critical phenomena and elementary particle problems, and a friend of ICTP.