news highlights

Honours for Women Scientists

ICTP Junior Associates are among recipients of Elsevier Foundation Awards

Honours for Women Scientists
Honours for Women Scientists

10/02/2015 - Trieste, Italy

The 2015 Elsevier Foundation Awards for Early Career Women Scientists in the Developing World have recognised the contributions of five women researchers from Nigeria, Sudan and Vietnam in the fields of nanoparticle physics, computational mathematics, atmospheric and medical physics. The awards, given in partnership with the Organization for Women in Science for the Developing World (OWSD) and The World Academy of Sciences (TWAS) include USD $5,000 and all-expenses-paid attendance at the 2015 American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS) Annual Meeting. ICTP supports the winners by offering free attendance and accommodation at one of ICTP's workshops or conferences.

Two of the recipients are present and past ICTP Junior Associates. Mojisola Usikalu, senior lecturer in physics at Covenant University in Nigeria, won the award for her work in medical and radiation physics. Usikalu has been an ICTP Associate since 2012. She was also an ICTP Training and Research in Italian Laboratories (TRIL) fellow in 2014 and has participated in workshops and conferences organised by the Centre, including its joint workshops with the International Atomic Energy Agency.

Another Nigerian award recipient, Mojisola Oluwyemisi Adeniyi, was awarded for her contributions to lower atmospheric physics. Adeniyi, head of the Atmospheric Physics/ Meteorological Research Group at the University of Ibadan, was an ICTP Junior Associate from 2005 to 2012 and continues to visit the Centre regularly to attend climate-related workshops.

A third Elsevier recipient, Nashwa Eassa, assistant professor of physics, Al Neelain University, Sudan, attended ICTP's Career Development Workshop for Women in Physics in 2013, as did Usikalu and Adeniyi.

The other winners are Dang Thi Oanh of Vietnam and Rabia Salihu Sa’id of Nigeria. The five winners will receive their awards on 14 February 2015 during a ceremony at the Gender and Minorities Networking Breakfast at the AAAS meeting, which is being held this year in San Jose, California, US.

More information on winners is available in the TWAS/OWSD press brief and TWAS news.