news highlights

2013 Ramanujan Prize Announced

Award goes to Chinese mathematician

17/06/2013 - Trieste, Italy

The Abdus Salam International Centre for Theoretical Physics (ICTP), and the International Mathematical Union (IMU) take pleasure in announcing that the 2013 Ramanujan Prize for Young Mathematicians from Developing Countries will be awarded to Professor Ye Tian, Academy of Mathematics and Systems Science, Chinese Academy of Sciences.

The prize is in recognition of his outstanding contributions to Number Theory. These include the completion of the proof of a multiplicity one conjecture for local theta correspondences and important work related to Heegner points and to the Birch and Swinnerton-Dyer conjecture:  the non-existence of points on twisted Fermat curves, and recently remarkable progress on the congruent number problem, showing the existence of infinitely many congruent numbers with arbitrarily many prime factors.
The Selection Committee consisted of Augustin Banyaga, Ngô B?o Châu, Zhi-Ming Ma, and
Lothar Göttsche (Chair). The Prize is funded jointly by ICTP and the IMU.

For more details about the Ramanujan Prize, visit the web page.