News archive 2007

21 Dec 2007


German physicist Rolf-Dieter Heuer has been appointed as the next Director General of CERN. His mandate will begin on 1 January 2009, and will last for five years. Heuer is currently research director for particle and astroparticle physics at the DESY laboratory in Hamburg, Germany.ICTP and CERN have always enjoyed a f...

19 Dec 2007

Happy Holiday Season

ICTP will be closed for the winter break from Saturday, 22 December until Sunday 6 January. On behalf of the Centre's staff and scientists, we wish all of our colleagues and friends a happy and healthy holiday season.     

16 Dec 2007

ICTP Director

The Director-General of UNESCO has reappointed Professor K.R. Sreenivasan as the Director of ICTP until 10 March 2010; his present term began in March 2003.Incidentally, Professor Sreenivasan has just written an article in the local newspaper "Il Piccolo" on Sunday 16 December. In that article, he lists some ...

13 Dec 2007

Socioclimatic impact

Earlier this week, Purdue University issued a press release that has raised a vast echo on the media throughout the world. A team of researchers has projected that "most nations of the world are threatened by the interaction of regional climatic changes with one or more relevant socioeconomic factors", in par...

06 Dec 2007

EyA in Physics World

The article "The Video Revolution Made Simple", published in the December 2007 issue of Physics World, reports about the innovative EyA system to broadcast lectures online. The EyA system was developed by ICTP's Scientific Dissemination Unit (SDU). The article describes effectively ICTP's research aimed at in...

06 Dec 2007

Sidney Coleman

Theoretical physicist Sidney Coleman, professor at Harvard  University, died on 18 November at Cambridge, Mass., USA. He was 70.  Coleman first visited ICTP in 1983 as a tutor at the ICTP Summer  Workshop on Particle Physics. He came back in 1991 as the recipient  of the ICTP Dirac Medal 1990, and t...

26 Nov 2007

TWAS Members

TWAS announced the election of 45 new members during the Academy's 18th General Meeting, which was held at ICTP on 13 November. Several scientists closely associated with ICTP are among the newly elected:Carlos A. Balseiro, Centro Atómico Bariloche, Argentina; Chandan Dasgupta, Indian Institute of Science, Bangalore, I...

14 Nov 2007

Ramanujan Prize 2007

Jorge Lauret, professor of mathematics at the Universidad Nacional de Córdoba, Argentina, has been awarded the 2007 Srinivasa Ramanujan Prize "in recognition of his outstanding contributions to differential geometry and group representations". The award ceremony will be held on December 3. The Ramanujan Prize...

09 Nov 2007

AIPS Honours Ghirardi

GianCarlo Ghirardi, Professor of Theoretical Physics at the University of Trieste and a long-time scientific consultant to ICTP, has been invited by the Académie International de Philosophie des Sciences to become a Membre Titulaire, the highest of four membership ranks. The Academy, an institution devoted to bringing ...