The Dirac Medal

Given in honour of P.A.M. Dirac

ICTP's Dirac Medal, first awarded in 1985, is given in honour of P.A.M. Dirac, one of the greatest physicists of the 20th century and a staunch friend of the Centre. It is awarded annually on Dirac's birthday, 8 August, to scientists who have made significant contributions to theoretical physics. The Medallists also receive a prize of US$ 5,000.

An international committee of distinguished scientists selects the winners from a list of nominated candidates. The deadline for receipt of nominations for the 2016 Dirac Medal is 15 June 2016. Nominations are accepted via the online form or by downloading and submitting the printed form.

The Dirac Medal is not awarded to Nobel Laureates, Fields Medallists, or Wolf Foundation Prize winners, although many Dirac Medallists have proceeded to win these prestigious prizes.

For further information, please write to, fax +39 040 2240 410.