News Highlights

Call for Nominations

2014 Ramanujan Prize
Ramanujan PrizeRamanujan Prize

18/11/2013 - Trieste

The Ramanujan Prize for young mathematicians from developing countries has been awarded annually since the first winner was announced in 2005. The 2014 Prize will be funded and administered jointly by the Abdus Salam International Centre for Theoretical Physics (ICTP) and the International Mathematical Union (IMU).

The Prize winner must be less than 45 years of age on 31 December of the year of the award, and have conducted outstanding research in a developing country. Researchers working in any branch of the mathematical sciences are eligible. The Prize carries a $15,000 cash award. The winner will be invited to the ICTP to receive the Prize and deliver a lecture. The Prize is usually awarded to one person, but may be shared equally among recipients who have contributed to the same body of work.

The Selection Committee will take into account not only the scientific quality of the research, but also the background of the candidate and the environment in which the work was carried out.

The Committee consists of eminent mathematicians appointed in consultation between the ICTP and the IMU.

The deadline for receipt of nominations for the 2014 Prize is 1 February 2014.

Please send nominations to describing the work of the nominee in adequate detail. Nominations should include a CV and a list of publications, as well as a letter of recommendation. Additional supporting letters are encouraged. Self-nominations are strongly discouraged.

For more details about the Ramanujan Prize, visit the prize webpage.